Silent No Longer

cropped-img_2826.jpg

I have been silent because I do not know what to say. I am unsure how many times we can yell, “This must stop!” to a an impenetrable wall. And yet I am not tired of standing with my black and brown brothers and sisters. I will never tire of the truth that #BlackLivesMatter. But I tire of the grief and heartache my friends and family must endure.

I have been silent because I do not know what to say. “I’m sorry,” “I love you,” “I’m listening,” “I’m here” don’t seem enough. These words spoken to the choir will not create change; they will spotlight allies and draw allegiance, but that is not enough. I know we need to talk, we need to link arms, we need to pray, but I tire of the same thing happening day in and day out.

I have been silent because I do not know what to say. There are those out there who are speaking truth, breaking down the walls and seeking peace. I admire them, I post their words, I embrace their ideas, I value them. I know I also need to say something, but I tire of the words returning void.

I have been silent, but now I speak, words from the Bible seem to be all I can muster: “Open your mouth for the mute, for the rights of all who are destitute. Open your mouth, judge righteously, defend the rights of the poor and needy.” This Proverb is not to say that Black Lives are mute or destitute, or poor or needy, but today I must open my mouth and defend the rights of Black Lives. Today I must say again and again #BlackLivesMatter.

Leave a Reply

