My Brothers

cropped-img_3721.jpg

Today my brothers are using words that break my heart.
Today my brothers are using words that sucker punch me in the gut.
Today my brothers are using words that call for action.

When one says, “I am dark skinned, have a beard, large, and ‘somewhat’ imposing, which means that I could be considered a ‘bad dude’ as well. The war that I deal with after seeing another black man killed by law enforcement is the terror that I am fighting each and everyday. I can shave the beard off, lose some weight…but the color of my skin I can not change.”

While another, “What did my black skin do to offend you? What is it about my black maleness that you fear? There is something inherently evil about the way you treat and see ME!”

And still another, “ If you can’t stand and mourn with me about my community and what’s happening to people of color in this country…don’t say nothing!! If you say anything…say his name!!”

These men are fathers, husbands, vets, pastors, reconcilers, prophets, brothers, and sons. And they are black. They encourage, speak truth and today they mourn and are outraged.

Today, my brothers speak for me.
Today my brothers speak for the those who are more than hashtags.
Today my brothers speak for change.

Leave a Reply

